Honor Those Special Contributors Who Connect the Library to the Community!

The nomination period for the NHLTA Annual Awards is open.

Each year NHLTA recognizes individuals and groups who have contributed to the excellence of New Hampshire public libraries in an extraordinary manner. Any library trustee board may nominate an individual or a group. The winners will be announced in September.

DOWNLOAD instructions and criteria. Email nominations to: nhlibrarytrustees@nhmunicipal.org before July 15, 2022.



The NHLTA Board of Directors believes that continuing education is the prime factor in providing the highest quality library services. The Mildred McKay Scholarship Fund provides a way to improve library services within the state. In 1965, the NHLTA Board of Directors established the Mildred McKay scholarship fund in honor of the former NH State Librarian. The New Hampshire Charitable Trust manages the perpetual endowment and distributes funds to NHLTA to be awarded as scholarships on an annual basis. History of the Mildred McKay Scholarship.

There are four categories:
NHLTA Conference Scholarships
Library Workshops Scholarships
Workshops for Consortiums, Co-op Groups
Educational Assistance for Graduate Studies

              Submission Deadlines for Graduate Studies
              Fall Semester • July 1
              Spring Semester • November 1
              Summer Semester • April 1

Categories and criteria were revised October 2021. Download these DETAILS. The application form is available in two formats: Fill & Sign PDF and MSWord docx. Please download the application to your computer. Email your application to NHLTASCHOLARSHIP@nhlta.org or mail to the address on the application. Please email inquiries to the NHLTA Scholarship Committee Chair: NHLTASCHOLARSHIP@nhlta.org.


Lillian Edelmann Trustee of the Year      Library Director of the Year
Ron Brown                                                Cynthia Jewett
Wilton Public-Gregg Free Library          James A. Tuttle Library, Antrim

Dorothy M. Little Award                            Special Library Service Contribution Award
Conrad V. Moses                                      James McFarlin
East Kingston Public Library
                   Meredith Public Library

Library of the Year
Derry Public Library

Sue Palmatier Award for Outstanding Support by a "Friends of the Library" Group
Friends of the Tucker Library, Henniker

Download the list of winners to date since 1988.